you are my son

At that time Jesus came from Nazareth in Galilee and was baptized by John in the Jordan. Just as Jesus was coming up out of the water, he saw heaven being torn open and the Spirit descending on him like a dove. And a voice came from heaven: “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”          Mark 1:9-11

 

Father, Son and Spirit.

 

It’s not often in the Bible that all three are mentioned together. It’s not often that the Trinity shows up in full representation.

 

On top of that, the Father is speaking audibly. Again, we don’t get this often in the Bible. Especially when God speaks and a whole crowd of people can hear—at least we assume they can. Nothing in Mark’s gospel suggests that only Jesus, or only Jesus and John the Baptist could hear the Father. He speaks and the crowds hear.

 

And the message on such a special encounter?

 

You are my Son.

I love you.

I am well pleased with you.

 

God could have said anything. This could have been the moment to warn people about sin. This could have been a chance to declare that everyone worship him. Literally, it could have been a time for God to say anything; to convince people that Jesus should be followed; to warn everyone about how they would all get so fickle and choose to call for the crucifixion of Jesus. Anything!

 

But the Father makes a declaration of love for his Son. The Father wants everyone to know he is pleased with his Son.

 

You are my Son.

I love you.

I am well pleased with you.

 

This is the God we serve. This is the God we love. He loves his Son. That’s what he wants us to know when Jesus is baptized. That’s what God wants us to know after years and years of silence. Since the prophet’s words had last been given it had been hundreds of years; then John the Baptist comes. Then comes Jesus.

 

And here, in the midst of the Jordan. The Son is dipped down into the water, the Spirit descends from the heavens and the voice of the Father proclaims,

 

You are my Son.

I love you.

I am well pleased with you.

 

What a day. What a moment. What a beginning. And the world would never be the same.

 

This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.      1 John 4:9-10

One thought on “you are my son

  1. Great post 🙂
    This reminded me that God loves us that much too 😀

    “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love.” (John 15:9)

    “I in them and you in me—so that they may be brought to complete unity. Then the world will know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.” (John 17:23)

Leave a Reply

