ransom for the empty

For you know that God paid a ransom to save you from the empty life you inherited from your ancestors. And the ransom he paid was not mere gold or silver. It was the precious blood of Christ, the sinless, spotless Lamb of God. God chose him as your ransom long before the world began, but he has now revealed him to you in these last days.      1 Peter 1:18-20

 

Ransom for my empty life—that’s what it comes down to.

 

My life without Jesus. Empty. My goals, my pursuits, my interests. Empty.

 

My hope, my ability to “help myself,” my satisfaction and purpose in life…all empty without the ransom. Without the blood.

 

How can it be that God would so overpay for such trinkets as us? We aren’t worth the cost. We aren’t worth the required payment of our debt. Sin required blood. My sin required blood. And the blood of goats and sheep and doves just wasn’t cutting it. The spotless Lamb of God, that’s the price.

 

And God pays?! God sends his Son for us?

 

Who pays for what’s empty and broken and worthless with the greatest of treasure?

 

Only the Father of perfect love. Only the Creator of those gone wayward. Only the One who can love rebel sinners too easily swayed by the lesser and the momentary and the created.

 

Who does this? Only God our Father who decided and planned and set it all in place before he even began to create us. It’s difficult to get my mind around this kind of love and depth of commitment. He chose to create us knowing the cost of saving us. It boggles the mind of this little sinner who seems to know nothing of true love for another.

 

I pray that by this grace given I will learn. For I know that God paid a ransom to save me from my empty life. There is no more outrageous or better news to be found.

 

The King’s ransom for my empty life.

 

One thought on “ransom for the empty

  1. Great post. I love these short and concise thoughts. Perfect for my schedule. I should spend more time in God’s word, but I just don’t right now. God bless and keep up the Good works.

Leave a Reply

