love the Father well

So think clearly and exercise self-control. Look forward to the gracious salvation that will come to you when Jesus Christ is revealed to the world. So you must live as God’s obedient children. Don’t slip back into your old ways of living to satisfy your own desires. You didn’t know any better then. But now you must be holy in everything you do, just as God who chose you is holy. For the Scriptures say, “You must be holy because I am holy.”     1 Peter 1:13-16

 

It’s an uncomfortable balance, this salvation by grace and the call to be holy. We are saved because of nothing we do. We don’t earn it, we aren’t worth it, we don’t deserve it. There is nothing to work out…and yet there is everything to work out. We are called to be holy, to think clearly, to be and do all sorts of things. It’s awkward. It tempts us to focus on self and think in terms of what we do instead of who is working in us.

 

Peter helps us along the way.

 

Right in the midst of his call to be holy Peter reminds us to look forward to the salvation that Jesus Christ is bringing. The reminder, for me, is the very clear distinction regarding why we are called to be holy. The actions we are called to display are not about our salvation, they are about our love. Behaving as children of the light is not about the position of our soul—we are positionally set right with our Father when we accept Jesus as the Son of God and our Savior. Behaving as children of the light is about loving our Father well.

 

We are called to live as obedient children. Obedience is how we show love for our Father.

 

All who love me will do what I say…     John 14:23

 

We are called to stop living simply to satisfy our own desires.

 

You do not belong to yourself, for God bought you with a high price. So you must honor God with your body.    1 Corinthians 6:19-20

 

Our call to be holy is not about earning and it’s not about proving worth. It’s about loving the one who loves us. It’s about being in relationship with the holy God of heaven. He has given us his Son and asked that we give him our lives. If we are looking forward the salvation that will come to us when Jesus Christ is revealed, this call to give him all will begin to be recognized for the small sacrifice it truly is.

 

Come now children, let us live in obedience. Let us love the Father well.

 

3 thoughts on “love the Father well

  1. Hi 🙂 nice post again. I have thought about this often. I believe we are saved by just believing in Jesus. This has caused me some confusion in the past. “Believing in” someone and “believing” someone are different. I can believe Jesus died for me and not care and live my life how I want. Am I saved if I do this? I’m not sure, but probably not. On the other hand “believing in” Jesus shows commitment. If you believe in Him then you acknowledge and accept his gift. I think in order to accept the gift you need to love Him enough to try and make some changes in your life. Good trees produce good fruit.

    • Costas, nice distinction between “believing” and “believing in” someone. I like it. And I so agree — saved just by beliving in Jesus. It’s such an awkward thing about grace — this truth that we are saved apart from anything we do and we can’t earn it; and yet we are called and expected to be holy, to do good. Sometimes it’s a little confusing to me! Seeing my motivation in my attempts at doing good. Am I trying to earn something from God or responding to his love? It makes me think of James talking about faith without works being dead.

      I like the way you put it: ““believing in” Jesus shows commitment. If you believe in Him then you acknowledge and accept his gift. I think in order to accept the gift you need to love Him enough to try and make some changes in your life. Good trees produce good fruit.”

      Well said.

Leave a Reply

