together

Moses then told Aaron everything the Lord had commanded him to say. And he told him about the miraculous signs the Lord had commanded him to perform.
   Then Moses and Aaron returned to Egypt and called all the elders of Israel together. Aaron told them everything the Lord had told Moses, and Moses performed the miraculous signs as they watched. Then the people of Israel were convinced that the Lord had sent Moses and Aaron. When they heard that the Lord was concerned about them and had seen their misery, they bowed down and worshiped.   Exodus 4:28-31

 

I know that Aaron being with Moses on this journey in some ways is a constant reminder that Moses begged God to send someone else; that Moses was too afraid. But I love the fact that God sends them together. This is a journey that is shared. And in some ways I can’t help but believe that God always had intended to send Aaron with Moses.

 

I love the way the end of chapter four in Exodus transitions from the sending to the actual going. Moses and Aaron meet. Moses tells Aaron everything. Moses and Aaron return to the enslaved Israelites together and then…Aaron tells them everything. It’s not just Moses’ story anymore, it’s Aaron’s too. And yes, Moses has speech issues (real or imagined) and he doesn’t like talking in front of large groups or something like that. But I love how the two come together, journey together, and the story of the one becomes the story of the two. And then the story of the two becomes the story of the nation.

 

When they heard that the Lord was concerned about them and had seen their misery, they bowed down and worshiped.

 

This is indeed a moving realization. And it brings the people together because they share this story. We share this same story and as I read the end of Exodus 4 I thought about how privileged we are to be journeying together. Journeying with other believers who are in close proximity to us and journeying with the larger people of God which transcends our place and our time.

 

I am grateful for community and togetherness and sharing the load. This is the way God intended our path to him to take. A narrow road it is, but that just serves to push us closer to one another as we make the trek.

 

I have seen and I have experienced the travesties that can be called Christian community. I have been those travesties myself. But I know from experience and the place I find myself in today that this journeying together can be a beautiful thing. It will always be messy. Moses and Aaron will have their own moments. Moments when most of us would throw up our hands, throw in the towel and proclaim our traveling companions no longer worth the time (we’ll get to this later), but the beautiful thing about Moses and Aaron is that they don’t. They share the story. It is theirs. Theirs to live and theirs to share.

 

We are made better because of who we share the journey with. Our story is not ours alone. It belongs to the people of God. We should be traveling together. Not just walking near one another, not just headed in the same general direction, but actually, truly sharing the story, the purpose, the goal. This is not my personal faith, my personal journey, my personal Jesus. This is God’s story and we are a part, meant to experience the story with the whole.

 

2 thoughts on “together

  1. “But in fact God has arranged the parts in the body, every one of them, just as He wanted them to be.”
    1 Corinthians 12:18

    I sometimes wonder if I’m in the right place… the place God wants me to be. Then I remember He placed me here on purpose.

    • A thousand times yes! I can relate to that statement. I also have often wondered at my place and why I am where I am and if it’s right. I am learning to appreciate the people God puts there with me; I’m learning to share the journey and not put the pressure on myself to do it all or bear it all on my own.

      Thanks for the Scripture reference as well. Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

