love’s deep sigh

When the Pharisees heard that Jesus had arrived, they came and started to argue with him. Testing him, they demanded that he show them a miraculous sign from heaven to prove his authority.
  When he heard this, he sighed deeply in his spirit and said, “Why do these people keep demanding a miraculous sign? I tell you the truth, I will not give this generation any such sign.” 
So he got back into the boat and left them, and he crossed to the other side of the lake.                  Mark 8:11-13

 

I wonder, was it the constant need for Jesus to prove himself that brings about the heavy sigh and the sadness? Or was it the demanding?

 

Why so resistant to believe?

Why must I prove myself again and again?

Have I given you so little? Have I been so inconsistent?

 

You come to me to argue instead of to share.

You come to me to debate and test.

Why not come to simply receive?

 

Is it because you have confused receiving with choosing?

Is it that your own have taught you of “rights” but not of gifts?

Why do you demand when I have already given?

 

So much of your energy goes to seeing what is not.

So much of your emotion to what hasn’t or didn’t.

Do these things really prove that I am not; or just that I am not as you’d have me to be?

 

I sigh deep when you doubt because I am not tame.

I sigh deep until I restore all things and make you whole again.

Did you know that while you anxiously wait for my return, I wait for it more?

 

4 thoughts on “love’s deep sigh

  1. I love poetry, and I benefited from your poetic treatment of this scriptural exchange. I encourage you to continue to use a poetic form to bring out the richness and nuance of the dramatic dialogue between Jesus and his “students.”

    • Frank,

      Thanks for your kind words. I do love responding to what I read in Scripture with poetry. I have only written a few (like this one) but I do feel that sometimes it captures best what I am hearing. Thanks for reading and responding. I am grateful you found value here.

    • Yes, sometimes the passages where Jesus is fed up are the most compelling to me.

      That last line struck me quite suddenly as I wrote it. It just sort of fell out of my head and I realized Jesus probably wants things restored far more than we. He knows what we can only imagine and lives with the frustration of what we don’t have a clue about.

      thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

