burning bushes

Moses and the burning bush. It’s one of the Bible classics. One of those stories we teach the kids. A bush on fire that doesn’t burn up. God revealing himself in such a peculiar manner. It’s a great story of the lengths God will go to in order to get our attention.

 

There the angel of the Lord appeared to him in a blazing fire from the middle of a bush. Moses stared in amazement. Though the bush was engulfed in flames, it didn’t burn up. “This is amazing,” Moses said to himself. “Why isn’t that bush burning up? I must go see it.”
   When the Lord saw Moses coming to take a closer look, God called to him from the middle of the bush, “Moses! Moses!”
  “Here I am!” Moses replied.

 Exodus 3:2-5

 

Rabbi’s have long loved to ponder the question of just how long the bush remained there burning before Moses took notice. Was it only a minute? Had it been burning for days? The questions leads to a more personal one for each of us. What are the burning bushes in my own life?

 

Has God been trying to speak to me? Is the Lord saying something, showing me something that I am just not hearing or seeing?

 

Every time I read this I am caught up again in the curiosity factor. God didn’t pronounce his presence, he didn’t come to Moses in a dream, he did not write it out on the wall (although he is certainly not unwilling to do that!) God uses Moses’ own curiosity to fuel their meeting. He just burned a bush…that didn’t burn. And he waited.

 

Eventually Moses took notice and came looking. “I must go see.” And so God was there, waiting and ready to encounter Moses and forever change the trajectory of his life. There is a song by Andy Gullahorn called Burning Bushes. I always think of it when I come across Moses and his own burning bush.

 

I’m praying for a miracle to let me know you’re listening. Waiting for a lightning bolt to strike. Walking through a garden of a thousand burning bushes looking up to heaven for a sign.

 

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to miss out on the burning bushes God has for me. Today I’m wondering, what ways is God trying to get my attention? What burning bushes are there? Where is God just waiting—waiting for me to come and listen and receive what he has to say and where he has to send?

 

It doesn’t have to be some unearthly expression to be God’s burning bush for us. Maybe it’s just a thought that won’t go away. A burden that won’t be shaken. An idea that seems to be on everyone else’s lips and spoken just for us. Could it be God? Could it be his burning bush just waiting until we get curious enough to check it out?

 

Why not take a couple steps in that direction? If it’s not God then you didn’t lose much; just a couple steps. If it is God, well, you will know—and soon! Aren’t you curious? Sometimes I think it’s tempting to expect God to show up in a set series of ways and look only to those types of his expression at the expense of anything outside it. But God may just surprise you. After all, it’s not everyday we read in the Bible about burning bushes. In fact, it was just that once…

 

Leave a Reply

