his words

I love the rain. I love the heavy, hard rain that is accompanied by thunder and lightening. I love the way it smells, I love the way it sounds, I love to just watch the wind and rain blow. And I love the green that seems to follow, especially in spring. A good rain just seems to make all the green even more green. So as I sat watching the rain this morning I began to think about its effects on the earth and it reminded me of this place in Isaiah that compares the rain to the effects of God and his Word.

As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater, so is my word that goes out from my mouth: It will not return to me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.

Isaiah 55:10-11

 

I wonder how often I actually open and read God’s Word with this much expectancy. I wonder how often I actually anticipate that as I read it is like the rain pouring down and making green.

 

I see the words, I hear them. They are God’s words and as they enter my heart and mind they are accomplishing his purpose. They are, in a sense, making green and bringing growth.

 

Just like the rains to the earth God’s words may not bring instant growth. It may take time. But as I read I should remember the promise, “[My Word] will not return to me empty, but will accomplish…and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

 

What’s the purpose today? What’s the purpose of what I’m reading? What does God desire it to accomplish?

 

So I will read, and anticipate. I will be open and listen. And I will watch—maybe not today—but in the days to come, I will watch God’s purposes take root and grow and make green where only dryness now exists.

 

Will you look at his words today? Will you read as if they really are his words from his mouth? Will you believe that even if it doesn’t stir you in the moment, even if it does ring with clarity and hope today, will you believe that those very words will accomplish something in you? That they will achieve a purpose?

Leave a Reply

