purpose

I cry out to God Most High,
to God, who fulfills his purpose for me.

He sends from heaven and saves me,
rebuking those who hotly pursue me;
God sends his love and his faithfulness.                   

Psalm 57:2-3

 

No matter how often I come across it in Scripture, I am constantly amazed at the notion that God has a purpose for me. I mean, think about it: he is God, he is the Creator of the Universe, the one who holds all things together. He sees all, knows all, is all powerful. And yet for each of us, there is a purpose.

 

There are like what, 6 billion people hanging around these days? That’s a lot of purposes all being worked out!

 

And on top of that, it’s not like Mission Impossible type purposes. God doesn’t come to us and say, “Here is the mission if you are brave enough or crazy enough to accept it. But if you should fail we will disavow all knowledge…” Okay, I know that’s not a word for word quote of the old Mission Impossible delivery of a mission, but it’s the general idea. And it’s not how God does it!

 

There’s no secrecy to protect the organization from bad press if we fail, there’s no “this message will self-destruct” warning. It’s just God saying to us, “I know the plans I have for you…”  It’s just an invitation to join him in what he is already doing; to be a part of something bigger and greater than ourselves. It’s an offering to find ourselves and our God more deeply along the way. And it’s not up to us to figure it out once the purpose is given. In fact, sometimes I think God withholds some of the details of what it is we are actually being given to do so that we don’t take it all on ourselves and try to do it on our own.

 

“I cry out to God Most High, to God, who fulfills his purpose for me.” God has a purpose for me, and he fulfills it. He makes it happen. He empowers me and guides me. He fixes the parts I mess up and corrects where I make wrong turns. This is good news. This is very good news. We have this propensity—because of sin—to ruin things. Not intentionally, not maliciously (at least not always intentionally!), but we do ruin things. It’s because we are ourselves a ruin. That is, with out Jesus changing us and filling us, without him forgiving us and leading us. And even then we lapse back to ruin from time to time.

 

So when God graciously gives a purpose to each of us he knows that he also needs to help get us there. And so, Psalm 57 says he sends from heaven and saves. And we need that saving time and time again. Because we are of ruinous tendencies we will need rescue all along the way. And God sends it. God sends his love and faithfulness.

 

It’s funny, when I am asking God for stuff, it’s usually…well…stuff. I don’t often ask God to send his love. I don’t often ask him to send his faithfulness. And it’s not like I’m implying that he won’t send it if we don’t ask. In fact, that reality that God’s love and faithfulness are unfailing is probably what causes us to not ask for it. We take for granted that it’s coming. But my point is that when we are asking God for something we are saying to God that this thing we are asking about is what we need right now. Or what we want right now. It’s kind of a glimpse into what’s going on within us and where we are placing our focus. It seems that God recognizes that often what we need when seeking to fulfill his purpose for us is more love and faithfulness.

 

So maybe that’s what I’ll ask for today. Love and Faithfulness. And then I can watch and see how God fulfills his purpose in me, for me, today.

 

It’s a great blessing to know that God has a purpose for us. And that he is about the business of fulfilling it. This is good news for today.

Leave a Reply

