wake up

I pulled the covers up high this morning trying to convince myself that I shouldn’t get up out of bed. I didn’t want to. I was comfortable and warm. It was dark and seemed too early to be up. And as I lay there trying to coax my body up and out I thought of this verse in Ephesians 5.

“Wake up, sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.”    Ephesians 5:14

I realized that just as I often have to prod and coax my physical body to wake up and live, I have to do the same with my soul. Why is that? Christ lives in me, but I often live as the dead. Not the physically dead, but the dead of soul. I need to “wake up” to the power and dynamic nature of Christ in me, but so many days I just go through the motions, living in a spiritual stupor of apathy or disinterest or self preoccupation.

 

And so today I must call out to my soul, “Wake up, sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine in you.”

 

But it isn’t just me calling to me; it is also the Spirit within me, reminding me that I am not dead, I am alive. Very much alive! And so as I search out this verse the Spirit has planted in my early morning mind I find more reminders, more prodding, more coaxing to live.

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord. Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness, but rather expose them. It is shameful even to mention what the disobedient do in secret.      Ephesians 5:8-12 

I once was, but I am not now. I once lived in darkness. I once acted as the dead, once lived with secrets, once lived with shame. I once lived in hate and guilt and pain. I once lived pretending, lying, changing masks. I once lived without the light, without the freedom, without the grace. I once lived, but did not really live. I was once in darkness, but now I am in the light of the Lord. So I should wake up and live as the risen. I should come out into the light and live.

How do our souls so easily fall asleep? How do they drift off and forget life, forget grace, forget love? Today I will run to the light wherever it may be found. I will wake up, I will embrace the life of Christ in me.

But everything exposed by the light becomes visible—and everything that is illuminated becomes a light.            Ephesians 5:13

I want to become a light today. To live in light and so become the light. Wake up, sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you. Today I will wake up.

Leave a Reply

