an important confession

Woe to you Pharisees, because you love the most important seats in the synagogues and respectful greetings in the marketplaces.       Luke 11:43

 

Father, I confess that sometimes I let others define my value and determine my worth. I focus on being whatever those around me deem important instead of who you have called me to be.

I confess that some days I want to be recognized, to be admired, to be thought of as important; and it comes at the expense of simply wanting to be in relationship.

I confess that I love positions, seats, titles, accolades, and awards more than I love people.

 

When someone invites you to a wedding feast, do not take the place of honor, for a person more distinguished than you may have been invited. If so, the host who invited both of you will come and say to you, ‘Give this person your seat.’ Then, humiliated, you will have to take the least important place. But when you are invited, take the lowest place, so that when your host comes, he will say to you, ‘Friend, move up to a better place.’ Then you will be honored in the presence of all the other guests. For all those who exalt themselves will be humbled, and those who humble themselves will be exalted.          Luke 14:8-11

 

Father, I confess that I look out for myself far more than I look out for others. I am self-promoting and seek to give myself the best.

I confess that I often settle for others perceiving that I am important rather than the reality of knowing I am valuable to you.

I confess that I do not like to humble myself.

 

How can you believe if you accept praise from one another, yet make no effort to obtain the praise that comes from the only God?  John 5:44

 

Father, forgive me. I like the praise and admiration of others too much. These distract me seeking you and your approval. They rob me of the Life abundant you have offered. They lie to me and convince me that my worth and my value are determined by those I am on the journey with, rather than the One we journey towards.

Father, I confess, that being important has become far too important and being humble and a servant far too rare. I confess. Please change my heart, my value system, my self-perception.

Leave a Reply

