why read?

Why should we read the Bible? Why is it so important to read regularly? Is it really so important? Or is it just some hoop we jump through to make God happy? Does it make us “better” Christians? Whose idea was this anyway? Did Jesus talk to the disciples about their daily devotions? Somehow I doubt it.

So why should we read the Bible regularly? What are we hoping to gain?

 

Look at what Samuel discovered about God’s word:

“The Lord continued to appear at Shiloh, and there he revealed himself to Samuel through his word.”           1 Samuel 3:21



That’s why we read! God reveals himself through his word! It’s not about clocking your time to get your merit points. It’s not about who is a better or a worse Christian based on how much time they spend reading (or praying – but that’s another discussion). It’s about opening God’s Word with the anticipation of how he will reveal himself through the words on the page.

These words are God’s, given by his own direction, written by his own people who saw him and heard him. And through these words he shows himself to us…as we read.

What expectation do I come with when I open the Bible? What is my hope? My anticipation?



Certainly every time I read God will not miraculously manifest himself in some life-altering way. That’s not how it works. But I think it should be the expectation that as I read, as I consistently return to these words of God, he will begin to reveal himself to me through the words I am taking in; his words.

It comes with a completely different feel if I open my Bible to read with the understanding that God is showing himself to me. It’s much better than the perception that I have to read or God will be disappointed in me.

Reading the Bible is dangerous though. God often reveals himself to us by revealing us to us. See, I’ve learned that reading the Bible regularly helps me see God more clearly because it shows me myself with brutal honesty. The more clearly I see me, the more open I am to seeing God.

Truth leads to truth.

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.            Hebrews 4:12

4 thoughts on “why read?

  1. Your post scared me originally. I didn’t see all the words…but finally they appeared. I thank you for them. Truth is, how can we know Him without the Bible? I have found Him as I seek Him with all my heart. Jeremiah 29:13

    • loreelle, sorry for the scare! I’m glad you were able to see the rest of what I wrote. You make a great point when you ask how can we know him without the Bible. It is amazing that God, in his deep desire for us to know him, has preserved these writings for so long. It is an amazing gift.

  2. Very enlightening word. Simple and truthful. I also find that reading his word serves also a battery charger. This world will press you hourly and will try to convince you His way is a way for fools. When I read the Bible, I have a sense of assurance and sharper awareness of myself, my enemies attacks and the proper way to respond. Psalm 16:1 Preserve me O God for in thee do I put my trust.

Leave a Reply

