how did I get here?

“I have become a foreigner in a foreign land.”  Exodus 2:22

 

How did I get here?

When did life become this?

Ever look at your life, your surroundings and just wonder how you got where you are? How you ended up doing what you are doing or living where you are living?

It’s not necessarily a bad thing, but sometimes it’s just surprising. You find yourself where you never expected to be. Doing what you never expected to be doing.

Sometimes it can feel exciting, and sometimes it can feel disappointing. But in most cases, it’s a bit disarming.

This wasn’t the plan. This wasn’t the place. I expected to be more “successful” or I expected to be more established, or I just expected to be…well…more.

When I read the beginning of Moses’ story in Exodus I came across his statement:

I have become a foreigner in a foreign land.

Sometimes this is more true than we care to admit.

Again. It’s not necessarily bad. Sometimes being in foreign places in life, where I never planned to go, can be exactly where I need to be. It can be exactly where I want to be.

Or it could be like Moses’ situation. Maybe I’m in foreign territory because I’m on the run from my past. Maybe I got myself into this by poor choices, or an unwillingness to confront my problems.

Either way, the real question for us becomes can I accept where I am today?

Can I trust that God will guide my path? That he is in control?

Paul makes a bold declaration about his own circumstances:

…I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.          Philippians 4:11-12

 

Will I be content today?

Leave a Reply

