so God, where are you?

For this is what the high and exalted One says—
he who lives forever, whose name is holy:
“I live in a high and holy place,
but also with those who are contrite and lowly in spirit,
to revive the spirit of the lowly
and to revive the heart of the contrite.

 

 I will not accuse them forever,
nor will I always be angry,
for then they would faint away because of me—
the very people I have created.

 

 I was enraged by their sinful greed;
I punished them, and hid my face in anger,
yet they kept on in their willful ways.

 

 I have seen their ways, but I will heal them;
I will guide them and restore comfort to them,

 

 creating praise on the lips of the mourners in Israel.
Peace, peace, to those far and near,”
says the Lord. “And I will heal them.”

 

Isaiah 57:15-19

 

 

Some days I need to be revived. Some days I need to be comforted. Or to just feel like I am being guided by One who is greater than I; who knows more than I know.  But sometimes on those days it feels like God isn’t around, like he didn’t show up. And sometimes I feel more like he just isn’t interested enough to help.

The truth is that so often the lack of comfort and the sense of lost-ness that I feel isn’t his fault, it comes from me. My willful ways, my greedy heart, my stubborn selfishness. I like to pin it on my surroundings, cruel people, or even God. But in truth, it’s often just me.

I’m realizing though, that I tend to focus on the why of my circumstances more than I should (especially in those times when it truly isn’t my own fault). I want to know who to blame, who or what to identify as the reason for my difficulty. But maybe the real issue is that why isn’t always the point. At least not while I’m still in pain, still hurting, still lost. In those moments God’s message to me is, “I will heal you. I will guide you. I will comfort you.”

 

Can I embrace his comfort without an explanation?

 

 Will I follow where God leads without understanding why it must be “that way” and not “this way”?

 

 Can I accept the nearness of God now, even though he often feels far?

 

It comes back to that issue of God hiding himself. He states it here in Isaiah 57:17 that he hid himself from his people because of their sin. Not for good, not forever, but for a time.

Perhaps my times of lost-ness and discomfort are God’s attempts to get my attention by not being attentive himself. Perhaps the moments of needing comfort help to make his comfort more appreciated, more recognized, more hungered for.

How could I truly be grateful for his embrace if I never knew the loneliness of living without it?

If the Bible teaches us nothing else it should at least show us that God will stop at nothing to bring us to himself. Even if that means allowing us to hurt and wander alone at times.

But in the end we will hear these words: “Peace, peace, to those far and near,”
says the Lord. “And I will heal them.”

2 thoughts on “so God, where are you?

  1. This is the scripture God spoke into my heart tonight. wow.

    Thank you Jesus Christ, my Lord and my Saviour!

    Amen

Leave a Reply

