consider this: what do i trust in?

The weekend offers a little extra time to consider, to perhaps dive a bit deeper into the Scriptures. Things can slow down a bit and offer more opportunities to think. So here is a topic and several scriptures to consider.

 

Woe to those who go down to Egypt for help, who rely on horses, who trust in the multitude of their chariots and in the great strength of their horsemen, but do not look to the Holy One of Israel, or seek help from the Lord.         Isaiah 31:1

 

Some trust in chariots and some in horses, but we trust in the name of the LORD our God.       Psalm 20:7

 

 

What’s the deal with trusting in horses?! I can honestly say I have never put my trust, hope or reliance in any farm animal!  

Obviously God is here pointing out that we tend to rely on the strength of others rather than him. We tend to put our trust in ourselves or our friends or our job or our abilities. We tend to buy in to the “pull yourself up by your own bootstraps” mentality rather than seeking help from God.

 

What is it about seeking help from God that repels us?

What are the “horses” and “chariots” I tend to rely on instead of God?

Who is the “Egypt” in my life that pulls my trust away from God and to themselves?

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.          Psalm 28:7

 

When I am afraid, I will trust in you.         Psalm 56:3

 

I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”           Psalm 91:2

 

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.        Psalm 148:8

 

“Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God ; trust also in me.  John 14:1

 

Trust is an easy concept, but a difficult practice. Something about being human rebels against the notion of not doing it myself. 

Are there patterns in my life that promote trusting in others rather than God?

 

What are the hurdles that are hindering me from trusting God?

 

What do I need to trust God with right now?

Please share your thoughts and insights.

5 thoughts on “consider this: what do i trust in?

  1. We as humans are always quick to believe our fellow men than what God says.We always doubt God when He says He is our provider,or our healer and we choose to believe what the doctors say about our health situation or what the economy of the world says.

  2. God is an amazing help in times of trouble. I am learning to trust Him with things I would have never thought possible!

    • Kesten, good words. When God moves in the impossible it definitely creates thankfulness in us (and reminds how trustworthy God is!). Thanks for reading and sharing.

Leave a Reply

